Go Up
You are here: AdministrationMonitoring PlansAdd Items for MonitoringComputer

Computer

Complete the following fields:

Option Description
General

Specify a computer

Provide a server name by entering its FQDN, NETBIOS or IPv4 address. You can click Browse to select a computer from the list of computers in your network.

Specify the account for collecting data

Select the account that will be used to collect data for this item. If you want to use a specific account (other than the one you specified during monitoring plan creation), select Custom account and enter credentials. The credentials are case sensitive.

NOTE: A custom account must be granted the same permissions and access rights as the default account used for data collection. See Configure Data Collecting Account for more information.

Scope

Monitor hidden shares

By default, Netwrix Auditor will monitor all shares stored in the specified location, except for hidden shares (both default and user-defined). Select Monitor user-defined hidden shares if necessary.

IMPORTANT! Even when this option is selected, the product will not collect data from administrative hidden shares such as: default system root or Windows directory (ADMIN$), default drive shares (D$, E$, etc.), shares used by printers to enable remote administration (PRINT$), etc.

Specify monitoring restrictions

Specify restriction filters to narrow your monitoring scope (search results, reports and Activity Summaries). All filters are applied using AND logic.

Refer to Configure Scope for detailed instructions on how to narrow your monitoring scope.

Configure Scope

By default, both user activity and state-in-time data will be collected for the monitored item. However, you can narrow your monitoring scope by specifying certain locations, user accounts or actions to exclude .

Click Add Exclusion, then in the Specify Filters dialog do the following:

  1. Provide the path to the file share where you are going to exclude some audit data. Use the path format as it appears in the "What" column of reports and Activity Summaries — for example, \\corpsrv\shared.

    NOTE: You can use a wildcard (*) only if you need to exclude user activity on this file share. For other data types (state-in-time or all data) wildcards are not supported. This refers to the specified shared folder, its subfolders and files.

  2. Select what type of data you want to exclude:

    Option Description Example
    All Data

    Select if you want to completely exclude the specified file share from being audited.

    The product will not collect any user activity or state-in-time data.

    NOTE: In this case,Netwrix Auditor does not adjust audit settings automatically for the selected folders.

    A Security Officer wants to monitor a file share but s/he does not have access to a certain folder on this share. Thus, s/he configures the product not to monitor this folder at all.
    State-in-Time Select to configure Netwrix Auditor to exclude data for the state-in-time reports from the monitoring scope. A Security Officer wants to monitor a file share, but it contains a folder with a huge amount of objects, so s/he does not want Netwrix Auditor to collect state-in-time data for this folder.
    User Activity

    Select to exclude actions performed by specific users on the selected file share. See the procedure below for details.

    NOTE: In this case, the product still collects stat-in-time data for this share.

    A Security Officer wants to monitor a file share that contains a public folder for which s/he does not want to collect Read operations.

    To exclude specific user activity:

    1. Specify what user accounts should be excluded:

      • All Users — select to exclude the activity of any user on the file share you specified.
      • These users — select to exclude specific users' activity. Provide user names as shown in the "Who" column in reports and Activity Summaries, e.g., MyDomain\user1. To enter multiple accounts, use comma as a separator.
    2. Specify what actions should be excluded:

      • All actions — exclude all actions of the selected users
      • These actions: — use the drop-down list to select the actions to exclude, e.g. Added and Moved.

After configuring all filters, click Add to save them and return to the item settings.

Go Up